Women In Music 2000-2009, You decide!

Hi all,

I am looking to compile lists of women in music 2000-2009. Any genre. Sadly, during this time, which would have been a prime time to rock out during my late highschool and early college years, I was stuck in listening to 1970s arena rock, and didn’t pay too much attention to what was happening with anything in music, much less women. 😦 I learned my lesson! I have some of my favs from the decade, but you tell me, what women where kickin’ it?

What music from 2000-2009 was most memorable for you, important, or at least noteworthy? Leave your suggestions in the comments! Thanks!

Best,

Emily

Posted on June 30, 2010, in Quick Riffs - News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Just stumbled onto your blog today…….gotta all that free time unemployment gives you. So here are some other suggestions:

    Emilie Autumn
    Rasputina
    Esperanza Spalding
    Vanessa-Mae
    Neko Case
    M.I.A.
    Garfunkel and Oates
    St. Vincent
    Hannah Fury
    Vermillian Lies
    Tsunami Bomb
    Amanda Abizaid
    Jack Off Jill
    Zombie Girl
    Collide
    The Delgadoes
    Antigone Rising
    KT Tunstall
    Emilie Simon
    Jasmin Tabatabai
    Halestorm
    Bonfire Madigan
    St. Vincent

  2. Brody Dalle, Courtney Love, Gaga, Regina Spektor, Kate Nash

  3. PJ Harvey
    Bjork
    Beth Gibbons of Portishead
    Amanda Palmer
    Fiona Apple
    Kritin Hersh
    Lisa Germano
    Liz Phair

  4. Tori Amos, Bjork, Fiona Apple, Laura Marling, Karen O, Lisa Hannigan, Lady Gaga, Beyonce…

