The Grammys! Women Rule!

The Grammy’s 2010!

I don’t have cable, but I do have youtube and the Internets. So, I have been checking out the Grammy coverage and I must say women rocked it!

It was clearly Beyonce’s year!

  • Beyonce – Single Ladies – Song of the Year
  • Beyonce – Single Ladies – Best Female R&B Vocal Performance
  • Beyonce – Single Ladies – Best R&B Song
  • Beyonce – Halo – Best Female Pop Vocal Performance
  • Beyonce – I am…Sasha Fierce – Best Contemporary R&B Album
  • Beyonce – At Last – Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance
  • Taylor Swift – Fearless – Album of the Year
  • Taylor Swift – Fearless – Best Country Album
  • Taylor Swift  – White Horse – Best Female Country Vocal Performance
  • Taylor Swift – White Horse – Best Country Song
  • Lady Gaga – Poker Face – Best Dance Recording
  • Lady Gaga – The Fame – Best Electronic/Dance Album
  • India.Arie & Dobet Gnahore– Pearls – Best Urban/Alternative Performance
  • Lady Antebellum – I Run To You – Best Country Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals
  • Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – Run This Town – Best Rap/Sung Collaboration
  • Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – Run This Town – Best Rap Song
  • Carrie Underwood & Randy Travis– I Told You So – Best Country Collaboration With Vocals

  

There were some kickin performances as well by Beyoncé, Lady Gaga + Elton John, Pink, & Taylor Swift + Stevie Nicks. Eeeeee!

Photos via The Grammys Online.

Posted on February 1, 2010, in Quick Riffs - News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Also, the MJ tribute was nice, but how did they select the musicians for that? Celine Dion? Carrie Underwood? Really?

  2. My favorite thing about the Taylor Swift performance is her punk banjo player rocking out during Rihannon. I have to admit that I’m on the “Gaga was robbed” team though, comparing their two performances it’s clear who’s the pro and who’s the kid.

    What was with the weird mash-ups last night? I mean, Beyonce is a powerful woman, but she doesn’t sing it like a pissed of white girl. Who had the idea “Beyonce, you should really sing Alanis Morissette’s ode to Uncle Joey in the middle of If I Were a Boy. That song is so hip right now.”? And I love me some Stevie Nicks, but it seemed like an odd pairing with Taylor.

    Gaga and Elton brought it though. Their shoutouts to each other at the end there almost choked me up – what a dream come true.

    All in all, a nice (if puzzling) night for the ladies. Let’s see more of this!

