The Runaways Movie Reviews

The Runaways movie premiered on Saturday at the Sundance Film Festival and we are already getting some reviews.  The reviews are rather mixed. Some love the artistic cinematography and dark, edgy feel the film has. Others are tired of the sex, drugs, and rock & roll aspect. What I love is that the film is directed and written by a woman, Floria Sigismondi. Joan Jett also was the executive producer on the film. So, I know at least one of the members had a say in how this thing turned out. I have not seen the movie yet, and you know I WILL review it once I have. Some reviewers who have seen it loved it, and others hated it. Either way, I still think that it is as accurate a biopic as we will get, and at least Joan Jett had some control over it. The only thing I am worried about is the “kiss” that happens in the movie, and that it will be the only thing talked about, rather than the amazing talent of the women who were the unmatchable Runaways. Some of the reviews also seem rather harsh, and I wonder, if this was a biopic about The Beatles, would the reviews be unanimously full of praise?

Posted on January 25, 2010, in Quick Riffs - News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have to see this film. Saw a trailer for it awhile back, I’m just so busy with movies I have to review that it’s on the back-burner for now. Runaways looks and sounds good and the young female cast and real-life counterparts are all intriguing. Thanks for your review. Sounds interesting.

    Joe Huber

    My Movie Review Site – http://joecooler2u.wordpress.com

