Listening Room # 11 – Sleater-Kinney – All Hands On The Bad One

Sleater-Kinney – All Hands On The Bad One (2000) on Kill Rock Stars

All-Hands-On-The-Bad-One-Sleater-Kinney-FrontThis is one of my all time favorite bands. These Riot Grrrls from Olympia, WA are in a word AMAZING. I’m only about an hour outside of Olympia, and the Sleater-Kinney exit, and every time I pass it, I want to put this record on. I only wish I could have discovered them sooner, instead of when I entered grad school and met other awesome women studies major’s. I really hope they get back together and tour. I know, wishful thinking, but the world needs it now!

This was the first album I owned, and even though I now have all their others, it still is my favorite. It tackles various social issues, from the media mainstreaming and selling out of riot grrrl ideas, to eating disorders, to violence against women. The songs are full of Corin and Carrie’s complex vocal layering, as well as, guitar fusion. I don’t know how they do it, with two guitars and drums, but they have such a full and encompassing sound, you would think there were 1o of them in the band.  For my Pop Music and Communication class I did an entire expose on Sleater-Kinney’s music as a form of feminist criticism and female centered forms of expression. I analyzed not only their musical structure, but lyrics and fan response. Needless to say, I can argue that their music is a powerful form of social change, at the very least, to the grrrls listening to them and finding sisterhood.

By far, every song on this album is my favorite. From the catchy “You’re No Rock & Roll Fun” to “#1 Must Have” concerning women’s safety and body image. I also love “The Professional.” To me, this one deals with the professionalization of music and style, and selling it back as original. I think this was not only true then, it is a pillar of the music industry.

So, to my feminist grrrls, rocker chics of all shapes and sizes, and head bangers at Girls Rock Camps, turn this one up to eleven!

Track Listing:

  • Side A
    • The Ballad of a Ladyman
    • Ironclad
    • All Hands on the Bad One
    • Youth Decay
    • You’re No Rock N’ Roll Fun
    • #1 Must Have
  • Side B
    • The Professional
    • Was It a Lie?
    • Male Model
    • Leave You Behind
    • Milkshake N’ Honey
    • Pompeii
    • The Swimmer

Their website: http://www.sleater-kinney.com/

Carrie’s NPR Blog: http://www.npr.org/blogs/monitormix/

Youtube:

 

Posted on November 9, 2009, in Listening Room - Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Listening Room # 11 – Sleater-Kinney – All Hands On The Bad One.

Comments are closed.

