Listening Room # 5 – Sade – Diamond Life

Sade – Diamond Life (1985) on CBS/Portrait Records

Sade - Diamond LifeContinuing with the saxophone solos I heard on the previous Motels post, Sade (Shah-Day)seemed like a nice way to show how one instrument can work so magically with two different music genres. Here on Sade’s debut album, one cannot help chill out to the smooth bass and sultry saxophone on the record. “Smooth Operator” the album’s first track, is perhaps one Sade’s best know works, but this album is full of sensible tunes for anyone on a quiet, stormy November evening. 

“Hang on to Your Love” I think is the best track by far. It reminds me of “Billie Jean” by Michael Jackson with its walking bass, and clean studio guitar work.  The closing track “Why Can’t We Live Together” is also notable as a perfect R&B groove. I don’t know what it is about her vocal style, but I can’t get enough of it. It has a richness and resonance that I just can’t quite describe. Something about it sounds like it has sung these songs in a past life somehow, with a fullness of experience to draw upon. Plus who doesn’t love tons of auxiliary percussion in their tunes. Congas, bongos and maracas…nice.

Overall, as if I don’t like an album I post on here, I love this one. Another gem to have, especially if you want to broaden your musical styles, this is a good way to get into the smooth jazz or quiet storm genres. For sure, it’s late night listening mood music!

  • Side A
    • Smooth Operator
    • Your Love Is King
    • Hang on to Your Love
    • Frankie’s First Affair
    • When Am I Going to Make a Living
  • Side B
    • Cherry Pie
    • Sally
    • I Will Be Your Friend
    • Why Can’t We Live Together

And youtube:

Posted on September 14, 2009, in Listening Room - Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Listening Room # 5 – Sade – Diamond Life.

Comments are closed.

